The Quiet Riot: Navigating Between Challenge and Overwhelm

I ran across Sharon Astyk’s Riot for Austerity the other day. For some reason, though I had come across Sharon’s name dozens of times, and looked carefully at both her books on Amaz*n, something refused to click, and I just hadn’t read any of her work yet. Dixiebelle tipped me off about the Riot and, intrigued by the name, I checked it out.

Apparently the first Riot for Austerity was in 2008. As Sharon describes it,

“We set two goals. First, we would spend a year trying to get our emissions down by 90% over the American average. Second, we’d use this as part of a larger public strategy to point out that it can be done – that we don’t have to wait for political action – indeed, that we can’t wait.”

Sharon is all about peak oil and climate change. Although I do absolutely believe both are occurring (My Man is in school to be an environmental maritime lawyer, partly so that he can work on climate change issues back in Alaska), they have both become such glamorous catch phrases that my renegade back arches when I hear them. I hate to get caught in a fad without an umbrella, if you know what I mean.

It’s a shame that I let that such an aesthetic style point get between me and some great work. Sharon’s website looks fantastic (her tongue in cheek post 12 Books is hilarious! And here I thought she took herself too seriously!) and I will be inter-library loaning her books as soon as I can get to the library.

In the meantime, I continue to be intrigued by her second Riot for Austerity, which is just now getting off the ground. My Man and I often despair that solutions to environmental problems always end up reduced to one or another ‘alternative’– paper cups instead of styrofoam, corn instead of plastic, coal instead of petroleum. No big campaigns ever promotes just using less, where the money in that? And no one likes to think that they might have to sacrifice something to make change in the world. Just like the endless parade of eat-what-you-want diets, get-rich-quick schemes and deoderant which promises to get you laid, we so desperately want to believe that there is a magic formula which will effortlessly fix everything. How did we get so damn lazy?! How did we come to loathe effort and struggle, both of which make life worthwhile?

Austerity is just the thing, really. “Morally strict, ascetic; markedly simple or unadorned.” But there is a political aspect to the word as well, “In economics, austerity is a policy of deficit-cutting, lower spending, and a reduction in the amount of benefits and public services provided.” (Wiki) Which of course makes perfect sense, when the government decides it’s time to tighten the belt, they always start with someone else’s belt. Apparently austerity measures have been the cause of protests and even riots in the past, which puts an interesting spin on Sharon’s Riot.

I love the astonishing goal of living off of 10% of the American average. I love that there are people in the world who can and do lead the way with such ballsy confidence. I love the attitude that our private lives can and should direct politics. I have always admired hard-core radicals, and even was one myself for some years. I lived on $2-3,000/year in my hey-day, using no petroleum products directly except kerosene for our lamps, and eating beans, rice and wild plants.

My own Austere Years required plenty of effort, but there was no strife, no hardship. They were a great joy, in fact, a highlight. That’s what I wanted and needed to be doing at that time. I truly feel like each stage of life is different, and each person’s life overall is different as well. Some people are born with just the right mix of character, and blessed with the tools and community necessary to keep up such impressive standards throughout their entire life. Other people, like myself, get a shining 15 minutes of fame before returning to the implicit compromise of the masses. Yet others tow the line of consistent small virtues throughout their entire lives.

I used to harshly think that only the hard-core radicals mattered (when I was one. Ha). As I’ve gotten older and come face to face with the limitations of sharing one’s life with spouse and children, family and community, and trying to lovingly balance out everyone’s needs/desires, I’ve softened quite a bit. I see the use in the middle road now. We need all those types of people, we need everyone who earnestly tries to do good in their life, each has something important to offer.

There’s no way my family could get anywhere near to the Riot for Austerity’s 10% goal right now. Living a fairly typical American life in a rented house in a big city, far from our Alaskan home environment, with a 1 and 4 year old makes in completely impossible. I have just barely begun to emerge from the tunnel of second-baby-survival-mode to where I could imagine cutting anything. But here is where the possibilities of the middle road open up.

I read that there were some thousands of people participating in the first Riot, worldwide. Which is a lot, but also, hardly any. The vast majority of people in the first world will read about the Riot as pure entertainment (if they read about it at all). The idea that their own family would participate in it would be ridiculous. Even, I suspect, most of you Apron Stringz readers will feel that the Riot is for ‘better’ people than us.

It’s impressiveness is it’s downfall, in a way. Not because of the Riot itself, or any fault of it’s creators. The extremity of the Riot is fantastic, perfect. The downfall is our own. Our black and white thinking, with which I am so intimately familiar. Either kick serious ass or step down, I say to myself. Or, used to say. Extreme radicalism makes us uncomfortable, there is an implicit mandate that we feel embarrassed to fall short of. And so the whole of responsible action can become closed to people, reg’lar folk, who feel entirely too intimidated to join in.

But what a bullshit way to proceed with life! Hallelujah for those righteous radicals who keep this big oil tanker just shy of the rocks. We don’t have to be them, or hate them, or anything. A goodly dose of mutual respect, and self respect, is in order. Rejoice in their way, and make your own way. Responsible action is accessible to anyone, to everyone! Start where you are, and do your best from there. If 10% of the American average is an impenetrable goal, don’t let that crush your desire to participate. Make your own damn goal! Don’t use this as a ticket to sloth and indolence, rather determine what you feel comfortable with, then push it one little step farther. Challenging yourself just beyond what you think you are capable of is inspiring.

And so, without further ado, let me introduce my Quiet Riot. In solidarity with the righteously awesome Riot for Austerity, I am going to do a 6 month ‘little riot.’ I won’t be publicizing this anywhere but here, I don’t want to water down the force of their statement. I don’t delude myself into thinking my Quiet Riot will be influencing carbon emissions policy. No, this is just for myself, and for any of you readers who would like join in.

If you feel even remotely inclined to join up with the real thing, oh my, please do! For your sake, for my sake, not to mention saving the world. But if you feel entirely too intimidated by the big riot, you can start here, in good company.

My Quiet Riot will begin with an audit of our home’s consumption, using the Big Riot’s seven categories (I have already taken a quick look and I can assure you, much to my dismay, we hit almost the full American average for electricity and water and probably somewhere around 50-80 percent for everything else). From those numbers I’ll set some rough goals for myself, probably different for each category. I’m thinking more along the lines of cutting 10% off of our current use, rather than cutting down to 10% of average.

After the audit month, I’ll get to work. I’m going to try to make little cuts everywhere, but with special focus on two categories per month, with a break for December. (Need I explain?)

If anyone is interested in joining in, I could run things with a bit of structure, offering audit guidelines, detailing ideas for cutting consumption, hosting discussion, etc. I imagine everyone would set their own goals based on their family’s current situation. This will be much more intention than rule based. Rules can be cheated on, but your intention is always true. Only you will know if you have ‘succeeded.’ And for this Quiet Riot, that’s what counts.

It’s a fine line between challenge and overwhelm. Between excuses and the limitations of real life. I feel that everyone needs to hear something different. The polished ladies who smuggly shop at Whole Foods after yoga class might need a good ass kicking, but I know many sensitive, earnest souls like myself who can become completely debilitated by guilt. Which is not remotely helpful, of course. Sometimes I feel like this blog and my writing style have grown up together to be almost like motivational speaking. My ‘calling’ seems to be a sort of cheerleading for those of us who’s heart and dreams sometimes outpace our ability and the confines of our very real lives.

Not that I don’t benefit from a good ass-kicking now and then. Thanks Sharon.

11 thoughts on “The Quiet Riot: Navigating Between Challenge and Overwhelm

  1. I would join in on a quiet riot– I can’t go 10%, but I have been working on making small cuts and I could use a good kick to get going on doing more of that, especially with water and electricity.

  2. Good on you! I was quick to jump on board with the Riot – but now I’m fearful of what I’ve gotten into. Also I thought the hubster would get on board with my latest crazy, but now I’m not so sure. 10% is such a huge goal and I’m suddenly intimidated, but I’m still going to work for it. If I weren’t such a lazy pants I would have had my first Riot post up yesterday. Instead even my post is undone. I love the idea of your Quiet Riot. I’m also inspired to see what everyone is doing.
    xo

  3. I am glad you finally met Sharon, well, her works anyway, because she is smart, funny, realistic, generous, and anyone who talks Zombietopia on their blog is definetly not taking themselves too seriously!

    http://sharonastyk.com/2011/04/25/zombietopia-the-best-case-scenario-for-the-apocalypse/

    (I also recommend her 3rd book, Independence Days – A Guide To Sustainable Food Storage & Preservation, and if my library would get her others like I requested, I would read & no doubt recommend those too!)

    So, Quiet Riot, I guess that is what we are doing already, but could certainly up our stakes, and being part of a group thing helps a lot. I am over the terms peak oil and climate change, and have been for a while, and I dislike using ‘sustainable’ too. We are just getting on with doing what is right by the planet, and the creatures who live here… it’s the Theory of Anyway (another piece of Sharon gold, well, from her friend Pat, but I first heard the term from Sharon. I am not a Sharon groupie, just like what she has to say, just like I do with you!!).

    Oh, and I just love the image of rebellious-punk-anti-trend-stick-it-to-ya CJ as a cheerleader!

  4. Ha! I have Sharon’s book Independence days on my bookshelf…and I have dived in a little. She is one inspiring woman, that is for sure.

    I have my own Quiet Riot going on, in that I am very ambitiously moving toward the vegie garden and fruit trees that we have yet to purchase and plant sustaining us for a week at a time, along with staples such as rice and bread. It’s for a more selfish outcome however because I need to save the coins to pay for the education of the little folks.

    But, if that is good enough, count me in! I am by no means a revolutionary, but so far as this street goes, I am a whole lotta crazy (I mean, who grows strawberries, snow peas and tomatoes in their front yard so that the neighbours kids can see and taste them???!!!!). We also just got the solar panels installed, and that has immediately inspired us to begin to sell, and not consume, so much energy.

    Have a great weekend, CJ. You make mine start with a smile.

  5. It’s easier than it looks I reckon. My man is pretty full on about seriously limiting consumption – be it petrol, electricity, water or stuff. He challenges me all. the. time. And as hard as it pains me to say it, my biggest obstacle has proven to be the opposing force my mind applies to the situation. I wail and moan about how hard it will be and how it’s unfair because others with young kids keep sane by using their dishwasher etc.etc.

    Go for it CJ. I’m right behind ya, cheering from my appliance-less kitchen.

  6. Thanks CJ, I’m in… I love your blog!!! and am always looking for “what else I can do” to reduce, reuse, repurpose, recycle, etc. In the last 6 years my husband and I have been actively trying to do better….learning to compost, garden, can, raise chickens and also reduce our consumption in all areas. We installed solar panels, take daily meter readings and log them, which actually challenges us try to consume even less. I’ll have to do some homework to see what our numbers are for each area and see where it’s possible to reduce by 10%. I think that’s definitely doable and I know from our electricity logs that writing numbers down does help. I’m sure you will be great inspiration / cheerleader.

  7. I’m game! I can really use a kick in the seat of my pants. Lazy isn’t the word sloth falls short. This is just the thing to get me back to my ideals. Although I will need to keep myself from throwing out my dishes by using a dishwasher to keep them clean, I’m sure there is a lot that I can do!

  8. Great post! I discovered Sharon a couple months ago and have read Depletion and Abundance and Independence Days–both wonderful and inspiring books! But I also agree that her lifestyle is just not attainable for my family. I think a little Riot is great! Anytime you decide to use or buy “less” it’s a step in the right direction. I look forward to your posts and participating in a Quiet Riot too. I don’t get a chance to check on Sharon’s blog as much as I’d like, but if you have an outline of what you’re doing here that would be great!

  9. Just discovered your blog from Anisa at . Thanks for giving a catchy name and structure to those of us trying for more modest goals. If everyone reduced their consumption *by* 10%, it honestly would make a bigger difference than if a few people reduce *to* 10%. I’m working on not comparing my own modest progress with others, but to simply see them as sources for ideas. I think the most important part is questioning what’s “normal” and why…once we do it’s hard to continue in the way we have.

Leave a comment